Massachusetts Distracted Driving Car Accidents
Our Boston Lawyers Have Recovered Millions of Dollars in Compensation for Car Accident Victims
Distracted driving is a serious and persistent problem on our roadways, causing thousands of injuries and deaths each year. Distracted driving is any activity that takes a driver's focus away from the road. This may include cell phone use, texting, eating, drinking, reading or grooming. Intense conversation with passengers can also distract drivers.
But cell phone use causes many injuries. As a result, more states, including Massachusetts, have now passed more comprehensive distracted driving laws, which ban both texting and hand-held cell phone use. There has been a great deal of education for Massachusetts drivers, yet many continue to pick up cell phones. These drivers are operating with negligence and if they cause you injury, you may have the right to pursue a claim seeking financial compensation for your recovery.
Contact Our Boston Distracted Driving Car Accident Attorneys
If you have been injured by a distracted driver, contact an experienced Boston car accident lawyer and learn your rights. For a free legal consultation, call our attorneys at 800-379-1244 or 617-723-7676. You can also use our contact form.
Massachusetts Distracted Driving Laws
Cell phone use by drivers causes more than 1.6 million car crashes
across the country each year, according to the National Safety Council (NSC). Massachusetts passed legislation banning texting while driving
in 2010. Police issued more than 18,000 tickets between October 2010 and April 2016, according to a Boston Globe
analysis. From 2010 to 2013, at least 180 people died in distracted driving crashes in Massachusetts. But many criticized the law as ineffective and lawmakers continued to push for the hands-free law.
After several failed attempts over the years, Massachusetts lawmakers approved hands-free legislation in 2019. The new Massachusetts Hands-Free Law took effect in 2020.
Massachusetts Texting While Driving Ban.
The Massachusetts Safe Driving Law became effective on Sept. 30, 2010. With this law, Massachusetts banned junior operators - drivers between 16 1/2 and 18 years old - from using cell phones to text or make phone calls. Drivers 18 and older were banned from texting while driving. Older drivers were still allowed to pick up cell phones to make calls, which made enforcement a challenge. Read about Massachusetts texting while driving accidents
Massachusetts Hands-Free Driving Law. Under this law, drivers can no longer pick up cell phones in Massachusetts. Instead, they can use hands-free technology. Cell phones can also no longer be used for GPS, unless devices are mounted on the vehicle dashboard. Taking effect on April 1, 2020, this law applies to drivers 18 and older. Junior operators are not allowed to use hands-free cell phone systems.
As Distracted Driving Rises, So Do Motor Vehicle Accidents
Distracted driving is a critical topic because automobile accidents are rising. The National Safety Council estimates as many as 40,000 people died in motor vehicle crashes in 2016 - a nine-year high. The period from 2014 to 2016 saw the greatest two-year increase in more than 50 years.
- The NHTSA reports 3,477 people died from distracted driving in 2015. Another 391,000 people were injured.
- On any given day, an estimated 660,000 drivers are using electronic devices, according to the NHTSA.
- Talking on a cell phone delays a driver's reaction time as much as having a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent, the legal limit for drunk driving in Massachusetts.
What to Do If You Have Been Injured by Distracted Driving in MassachusettsDrivers who use cell phones or engage in other distracted driving behaviors and cause injury are operating with negligence. Drivers have a responsibility to be informed about driving laws.
If you have been injured in a car or truck accident
caused by distracted driving, you may be entitled to recover monetary damages for pain and suffering, medical expenses and lost wages. Depending on the facts of your case, you may be able to pursue additional damages as well.
You will have to show you suffered an injury as a result of the car crash and that the person was texting while driving, holding a cell phone or was operating negligently in some way.
A police citation for texting while driving or cell phone use may be used as evidence in your civil claim. Local police, however, may not issue a citation in every accident. You may need to find other ways to demonstrate the driver's negligence. This is where our attorneys' experience comes in. We work with a veteran team of accident reconstruction experts and have decades of experience investigating all types of car accidents, including pedestrian accidents
and bicycle crashes
. We are committed to reaching the best result for every client.
Free Legal Consultation - Boston Distracted Driving Accident Lawyers
If you have been injured, do not delay. Massachusetts has a Statute of Limitations which restricts how long you have to file a civil lawsuit. Breakstone, White & Gluck and our car accident lawyers
offer a free legal consultation to help you learn your rights. Contact Breakstone, White & Gluck today at 800-379-1244 or 617-723-7676 or use our contact form